Media Kit

Praise and Press for This Vicious Grace

Riveting, passionate, and full of high stakes danger.” – Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Emily Thiede’s exciting fantasy debut, This Vicious Grace, will keep readers turning the pages until the devastating conclusion and leave them primed for more!

Three weddings. Three funerals. Alessa’s gift from the gods is supposed to magnify a partner’s magic, not kill every suitor she touches.

Now, with only weeks left until a hungry swarm of demons devours everything on her island home, Alessa is running out of time to find a partner and stop the invasion. When a powerful priest convinces the faithful that killing Alessa is the island’s only hope, her own soldiers try to assassinate her.

Desperate to survive, Alessa hires Dante, a cynical outcast marked as a killer, to become her personal bodyguard. But as rebellion explodes outside the gates, Dante’s dark secrets may be the biggest betrayal. He holds the key to her survival and her heart, but is he the one person who can help her master her gift or destroy her once and for all?

“Remixing all the best parts of a dark fantasy and a romantic comedy, This Vicious Grace is a wonderfully fun time from start to finish, with lush, complex worldbuilding, intensely relatable characters, and relationships that are easy to root for.” – Hannah Whitten, New York Timesbestselling author of For The Wolf

“Filled with witty banter, unlikely friendships, a swoon-worthy romance, and high stakes tension, Emily Thiede creates an immersive fantasy world inspired by the sun-drenched Amalfi coast that will captivate readers until the very last page. Sure to be a favourite for fans of Stephanie Garber, Leigh Bargudo, and Kerri Maniscalco.” – Lyndall Clipstone, author of Lakesedge

“A richly imagined world featuring a slow burn, sizzling romance and a conflict that crackles with magic.” – Elle Cosimano, award-winning author of Seasons of the Storm


“From the lush setting to dire stakes and whip-smart banter, This Vicious Grace is romantic, suspenseful, and utterly unforgettable.” – Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of the Reign of the Fallen series

“The perfect blend of humor and heart, This Vicious Grace is a high-stakes romp that brims with deadly magic, sparkling chemistry, and the deep yearning for connection in an alienating world. Prepare to fall head-over-heels with Alessa and Dante!” – Allison Saft, author of Down Comes the Night

Short Bio

EMILY THIEDE is the author of This Vicious Grace, book one in a YA fantasy duology coming out June 28, 2022 with Wednesday Books. A former public school teacher, Emily teaches creative writing and serves on the board for Writer House, a local writing nonprofit, and is a co-host for the Basic Pitches podcast. An alumnus of PitchWars and Author Mentor Match, she loves mentoring aspiring authors, fostering kittens, and getting lost in the woods near her home in central Virginia.

Long Bio

EMILY THIEDE is a young adult fantasy author. Her debut, This Vicious Grace, will be published by Wednesday Books on June 28, 2022, with a sequel to follow in 2023.

After a childhood spent reading in trees and dreaming of riding dragons, Emily studied psychology and anthropology at the University of Virginia before receiving a masters degree in education from the College of William and Mary. She taught in public schools before becoming a full time writer and now teaches creative writing seminars through WriterHouse, a local writing nonprofit where she also serves as a board member.

An alumnus of PitchWars and the Author Mentor Match program, Emily was a 2020 PitchWars mentor and currently co-hosts the Basic Pitches podcast. When she isn’t writing, Emily can often be found fostering kittens and getting lost in the woods near her home in central Virginia.

You can find Emily across social media platforms @ektwrites and on her website www.ekthiede.com.

Emily is represented by Chelsea Eberly of The Greenhouse Literary Agency.

Credit: Jen Fariello